Bangladesh Sri Lanka Zimbabwe Series 2018 Fixture

Bangladesh is going to host a tri-nation ODI cricket series on their home soil which includes themselves as well as Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. The series will be the first one of the year 2018 for all of these three countries and will start from 15th January 2018. As there is much similarity in these three teams in terms of potentials and recent performances, this series will surely be an exciting one for cricket fans all over the world.


BANGLADESH: Bangladesh has lost to South Africa in all the matches (2 Tests, 3 ODIs, and 2 T20Is) in their last series of 2017. They hope to start the year with a good one when the oppositions do not have many big names. If they can win this series, it will give them enough confidence to carry through for the remaining series in the year.

SRI LANKA: Sri Lanka has been defeated by India in their last series of 2017 in all the three formats (Test 0-1, ODI 1-2 and T20I 0-3) and is desperate to find their winning experience in the first counter of the new year.

ZIMBABWE: Zimbabwe was in a spot of bother in their last test against South Africa which was the first 4-day test match in the history of cricket. They will also want to grab some wins under their belt.

The home advantage will surely be with Bangladesh as they know their soil much better than the others. Still, the Sri Lankans and the Zimbabweans are also familiar with this sort of wickets as they play numbers of games in Bangladesh. The crowd will be a cheering factor for the hosts though.



Meanwhile, Bangladesh has announced their 16 member squad for the tri-nation series. They have brought back some of the old faces like Anamul Haque and Abul Hossain Raju. So, their squad looks like this at the moments:

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicket Keeper), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Anamul Haque Bijoy (Wicket Keeper), Mohammad Mithun (Wicket Keeper), Mahmudullah Riyad, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Abul Hasan Raju, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Sunzamul Islam.

In: Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mohammad Mithun, Abul Hasan Raju

Out: Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed

You can see that the Bangladesh side have Mashrafe and Shakib as their leaders in the bowling department. Then they have top order batsmen like Tamim, Imrul, Anamul, and Mithun. The middle order will also start with Shakib and will comprise of Mushfiq, Mahmudullah, Sabbir, and Nasir. the Bowling all-rounders like Saifuddin, Abul, and Miraz will also give them depth in their batting as well as bowling department. Lastly, they have some other specialist bowlers like Mustafizur, Rubel, and Sunzamul. They have two backup Wicket Keepers in Anamul and Mithun alongside their main Wicket Keeper Mushfiq. So, they are starting with a balanced squad, largely influenced by the recently finished BPL T20 2017.


Graeme Cremer (Captain), Ryan Murray (Wicket Keeper), Hamilton Masakadza, Solomon Mire, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Sikandar Raza, Peter Moor, Malcolm Waller, Tendai Chisoro, Brandon Mavuta, Blessing Muzarabani, Christopher Mpofu, Tendai Chatara, Kyle Jarvis

In: Brendan Taylor, Brandon Mavuta, Ryan Murray, Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chisoro, Kyle Jarvis

Out: Ryan Burl, Chamu Chibhabha, Carl Mumba, Tarisai Musakanda, Richard Ngarava, Donald Tiripano, Sean Williams

You can see that the Zimbabwean side is totally changed than their last series. They have failed to do better in recent times and thus called for a huge number of changes in their squad. Let’s see the result this time.


Angelo Mathews (Captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Upul Tharanga, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Asela Gunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan, Shehan Madushanka, Akila Dananjaya, Wanidu Hasaranga


Jan 15, Mon, 12:00 PM | Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe
Jan 17, Wed, 12:00 PM | Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe
Jan 19, Fri, 12:00 PM | Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
Jan 21, Sun, 12:00 PM | Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe
Jan 23, Tue, 12:00 PM | Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe
Jan 25, Thu, 12:00 PM | Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
Jan 27, Sat, 12:00 PM | Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, Final Match

So, you can see that each team will play 4 ODI matches before earning the final two spot. A total of 7 matches will be played and all of them will be hosted by Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur, Dhaka. All of the matches will start at 12:00 PM Bangladesh Time (6:00 AM GMT).


All the matches will be streamed live right here as soon as the matches start. So, bookmark this webpage right now and visit for most recent updates regularly.

Thanks for reading this post.

Leave a Comment